State of the Game from a Vet's Perspective

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by xMeserionx, Feb 12, 2024.

1. xMeserionx

Do I Count as a Veteran? Well I've been playing the game regularly for about 8 years now, so I think it counts. Been in my outfit for nearly all of it, and have played regularly every Saturday almost religiously. So yeah, I think I count as what constitutes a veteran of the game.

Foreword
    As a player, I would say I'm a vehicle main, with construction also being in my wheelhouse since I've been using it since it was introduced. I do play some Infantry and will make use of it based on the situation, but given the choice I'll pull a vehicle first. This is in part due to my poor reflexes for shooting but great calculative ability for leading shots. When I do play infantry, I like Engineer, Heavy Assault, and Infiltrators, but I'm comfortable with all the other classes too. I'm the sort of player that has run out of things to spend Certs on. I'm primarily a Vanu player, but I have alts on other factions; something about space guns, spandex memes, and hover tanks really feels like the coolest thing ever.

Main Article
    So if someone were to ask me what I think of Planetside 2 today, I would say it's not great, but it's ok. I feel as though the game has become entirely too infantry-focused, and that every other mode of play has been nerfed or gimped in some fashion to make way for infantry play. I don't like to point fingers, normally, but I have to say it: Wrel was an infantry main, and likely had a rather significant impact on the game's development and balance changes over time. The end result? The game has become a stagnant 1-dimensional experience that gets boring real quick, and punishes solo players due to the tactics frequently used by outfits and platoons.

Some of the tactics I'm talking about include but are not limited too: