What did you like about old Esamir so much?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Tharovinn, Sep 2, 2023.

1. Tharovinn

I've been playing Planetside 2 since May 2021, and I've seen many posts and comments in and out of game remarking how old Esamir was better. Being an old game I'm playing, plus having an interest in the past I want to satisfy my curiosity but I need your help.

I would prefer comments from the players that have experienced the pre- and post- iteration of Esamir but even if you are someone like me that only played after the Shattered Warpgate update (1st of October, 2020) Is there something that you see in the past versions of Esamir that the current Esamir could use?

Prior to the creation of this thread I've watched gameplay footage on Youtube from years past, browsed the Planetside 2 wiki to identify removed bases, traveled in-game to those bases which once were, and examined past maps of the continent.

My investigating has only taken me so far, informing me of what once so enlighten me - Why was old Esamir better? What bases do you miss that have that became snow covered and still are to this day? Would you like if the northeastern warpgate moved to where is now on live but kept the lattice untouched? Was there anything you liked about how the lattice connections used to be?
  2. 36thelement

There is nothing better about esamir since the dumb campaign, everything is worse. And the people that ruined esamir went on to design a new continent from scratch. Look how well that turned out.
  3. aversi0n

I liked the old version and I also like the new one. Esamir is my favourite continent and I also prefer variety over stagnation. Yesterday evening I wanted to play only an hour and then ended up with over four hours, because it was Esamir time.