First Time I've Seen Someone Obviously Cheating

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by silent wave, Mar 9, 2019.

1. silent wave

This guy was warping around in midair like he had some kind of noclip or fly and speed hack modification. And he did it in front of like 20 of us Vanu players. He was a very low BR player, playing as engineer. It's the first time in PS2 I've seen this; I've been playing for 5 months. Sad. Has this kind of thing happened a lot in the past, before the BattleEye service started being used?

[IMG]
    [IMG]
    [IMG]
  2. Towie

Cheating in PS2 is an interesting story.

At first the hacks were very crude - you could do things like teleport to a player, instant kill, fly - all sorts of rubbish that was very easy to spot.

The hacks progressed so as not to be so totally obvious and gained an amazing level of sophistication, like adjustable aimbots, most dangerous target identification (sophisticated ESP), flying aimbots.

When Battleye was first introduced it made an absolutely ENORMOUS difference. My own k/d increased significantly, it's amazing what a level playing field can achieve.

There were options left by modifying the asset files (changing things like head-hitbox, ESP) - and people most definitely did that and still do to this day, but DBG have introduced various checks to catch them. It's a cat and mouse chase that never ends. When caught it tends to be a 'delete' ban now which is good.

Things since then haven't been so rosy. Last year in particular saw an increasing number of 'suspicious' folk using things that felt a lot like the pre-Battleye aimbots. So they've either written their own, paid for one (if Battleye doesn't 'know' the cheat then it won't detect it) or found a way to bypass Battleye.

As to the guy you've found - sadly this is most definitely a cheat using what looks to be an old-style hack.