Help with frame rate issues?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by JohnnieSnow, May 26, 2016.

1. JohnnieSnow

So I am fairly new to PS2 and I am really enjoying it...
    ...when I have more than 20 fps.

My specs are as follows:
    GPU: Nvidea GTX 970
    CPU: AMD A8-7650K Radeon R7, 10 Compute Cores 4C+6G
    (I am aware that the game does run better on Intel processors, but I have what I have)
    RAM: 2x 8GB DDR3 @ 1600

(Let me know if any other specs will be useful for solving my problem)

I consistently run the game at around 40 fps at the lowest settings which is okay, except this is without a battle. In the largest battles I run at around 10-15 fps which is unplayable.
    I am really enjoying the game so far but would like to be able to play it at a consistent and tolerable fps. Any help or advice that you could offer me to improve my frame rate, and game play experience in turn, would be greatly appreciated :D
  2. PasitheeVS

The CPU is very weak.
    I used to have a AMD A8-5600k, which had okay performance back then but is now just obsolete. I replaced it with an i5-4590 which has roughly 2x the performance.

The A8-7650k is not much better. With the i5-6600k you should be able to double your performance.
    http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i5-6600K-vs-AMD-A8-7650K

However because your Framerates are very low, even for this CPU... are you running the game with the integrated GPU of the APU?

Do you have the Monitor cable (DVI/HDMI) plugged in your mainboard or your GTX 970?
  3. PasitheeVS

and a small thing: How did you place the RAM-Bars on your Mainboard?
    Just randomly or were you aware of using your MB's Dual Channel configuration?

Dual channel RAM configuration will increase your CPU performance by ~5%. Not much, but a beginning...
  4. JohnnieSnow

Thank you for the reply!

I am using the Dual channel (it is the default config on my board) for my RAM.
    My HDMI cable is plugged into my GTX 970 directly.