[Brainstorm] If you were a designer... Redeployside

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Alan Kalane, May 2, 2015.

1. Alan Kalane

Normaly I'd place this in the off-topic section but since it's gone...

Although I am not a game designer myself I always wanted to create my own game. Hell, who didn't? Everybody has those briliant(or at least we think so) ideas for making a completely new, breathtaking game, that will be remembered for decades. So now, let's jump into the boots of a designer just for fun. No faction or balance bias, just basic game mechanics. Feel free to share your ideas below, remember - it's just for fun.

If I may propose a starting topic... the redeployside, as they call it, is considered by many players the greatest issue of the game. So how do we fix that?

I don't entirely agree with some other suggestions to simply remove all the spawnpoints except for your current hex and the warpgate. You have to understand that there are players who just want to shoot stuff or grind certs/directives and they would be very unhappy with this change.

The game mechanics have to cater to both the "random" freelance players and squad members, allowing to get to a gunfight quickly while also providing some strategic options for those who expect something more than just simple Capture The Point shooter. It should also discourage zerging and encourage big battles.

Now, start brainstorming!
    [IMG]
  2. Alan Kalane

So my personal opinion on this subject:
    1. You can always spawn at the warpgate or in your current hex.
    -This is obvious

2. You can spawn at allied facilities if they are under attack and the enemy has more than 60% pop there or if they neighbour such a facility.
    -This is meant to allow the lone wolfs to get into a fight quickly while also discouraging zerg tactics and make big battles more likely.