[Vehicle] Magrtider: Racer or rival, and for what?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Ballto21, Mar 29, 2015.

1. Ballto21

I have a fully certed stealth magrider with second to last magburn, full reload speed fpc, and similarly certed saron. For vehicle hunting like this what should i use as a chassis?
  2. Ianneman

As a Prowler driver I shag Magriders 9/10 times by getting close, preferably under them, making it impossible for them to hit me. I have more trouble with Rival Combat Magriders than with Racer Magriders.
  3. Mongychops

I tend to like going with Rival when your Magrider is lone-wolfing, and taking the enemy on head to head. The extra strafe and reverse speed are handy for being actually able to avoid shots at medium range, as well as disengaging without exposing your rear armour. However, it is best to have Magburner maxed out, since you are much more dependant on it for acceleration and mobility. Remember that on flat, clear, terrain you can get an extra ~5 kph by moving diagonally forward.

I like Racer when I am going in a group with other vehicles, because otherwise you will slow them down, and as the MBT you should be leading from the front. It also works very well as a pair of Magriders, because together you can take down anything difficult quickly and move on in a very aggressive play style. Also, with Magburner, a Racer Magrider can chase down nearly any other vehicles, like Racer Sunderers, Lightnings or (bad) Harassers. It is perfectly possible to play solo as a Racer Magrider in an ambush role. Cross country, a Racer+Magburner Mag can outrun anything it can't outfight (Vanguards), and is a very fun way to play Magrider. However, the lack of medium range strafe to dodge, and slower reverse speed to disengage means straight up fights are less advisable.
  4. Viztorgath