MAP DESIGN - SOE should get a reward!

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by ArenBlade, Dec 24, 2014.

1. ArenBlade

Hey guys, I'm Arenblade (Emerald NC) and I've been a reaver pilot for about a year now.
    Just this past month I've been running on the ground and having fun with the different classes and I have to say WOW!
    SOE put a lot of thought in to the maps to accommodate all the classes. I can tell a lot of thought was put into making the maps lite-assault accessible while still adding things to block one's view so they can't easily kill everything from the rooftops (not all the time anyway).
    Just 1 continent has as many "mini" maps and battles as about 10 regular FPS games combined.
    I've thought about a lot of different games that have interesting maps, and one thing that Planetside 2 excels beyond them is that there are 1,000's of unique battles that can occur in any area. You never have the same exact fight twice. It is really fun and amazing!
    Thank you SOE and keep up the great work!
    Happy Holidays!
    • Up x 3
  2. FieldMarshall

If you saw planetside 1's 10 unique continents and 6 core-combat caverns from 2003, the 4 planetside 2 continents quickly loose "awesomeness".

They look prettier and are more detailed though, but then again ps1 was over 11 years ago and would probably look close to ps2 if it was remade today..
    Except with more emphasis on open ground battles around bridges, chokepoints and water.
    • Up x 7
  3. BlueSkies

Ah.. the origin of my hatred for the magrider
    • Up x 2
  4. Crashsplash

Disregarding the vehicle camping possibilities and the distances between outposts that are too short for open field fighting and the removal of cap points from towers making them too easy and the general lack of defence possibilities with too easy capture and I may agree with you.
    • Up x 4
  5. asmodraxus