Completely understand why new players quit early

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Bitterclaw2, Nov 30, 2014.

1. KnightCole

I can see hit detect being a HUGE turn off for a new player coming to this game. After all, despite any other hype or w/e this game might have, its a shooter. And why do you play a shooter? Oh yeah, to shoot and kill Epeople. And when time after time, a new player, who is unaware or upgrades or the ongoing, questionable hit detect issues with this game, is dying, despite unloading half a clip or more into a single person, is going to get upset with the game and quit.

**** lol, I started 2 years ago, when hit detect was far more reliable and the game functioned better...ish....and on my first day I was like...fk this....and almost decided to quit myself. But figured, 1st day, im just a noob. But still, when in a shooter, all you do is die, its not fun. People do not find staring at the Respawn screen time after time after time fun.

And then, toss in the seemingly daunting cert screen, where it takes upwards of 200 certs to get your gun upgraded, when your making maybe 5 certs an hour cuz your dying left and right, it makes it all seem quite hopeless. It took me a good solid 4 days of playing to finally get my first 130 certs to get my Sight and a suppressor for my then, T9 CARV. I just had to get rid of that muzzle flash that was destroying my ability to track targets. After that single upgrade, my performance and enjoyment increased 100 fold.