[Suggestion] New control Option for Aircraft (mouse and keyboard)

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by CrudShuzKong, Feb 13, 2014.

1. CrudShuzKong

I started playing ps2 a few days ago and find the controls for Aircraft (mouse and keyboard) a bit lackluster, since the mouse has to be used for targeting (keyboard tapping is way too inaccurate), but only supports the controls for pitch and roll.
    I would like to suggest adding an option to make the mouse control pitch and yaw.
    This would make targeting in the air with the mouse a lot smoother and more intuitive, because it would essentially be like a turret that is moving. For me that would be the best way to pilot, since the right hand would do the flying and the left one the aiming and shooting (i also pitch with my left hand and throttle with my mouse).

thanks for reading
    Kong
    • Up x 12
  2. Talk

Someone's made a post a year or two ago on release. Still no implementation. Don't expect it anytime soon. They really don't care how you LIKE to fly, so you better learn how to fly how THEY want you to fly.

tldr: PS2 don't care what you want.

edit: post wasn't long enough to warrant a tldr but meh.
    • Up x 5
  3. iDash44

We all Agree. The flight controls are bizarre and there's no way to set them to be normal. Joystick support was a lie. Without analog there's no joystick support, period. Digital aiming just doesn't work, period. There's a good reason shooters haven't used keyboard aiming since Doom. Without mouse yaw it's impossible to hit the broad side of a barn. I've been wanting to come back to the game, but I can't until they stop pretending to be a console game and give us bindable controls. The default setup is ridiculously bad.