DirectX 11 / Crossfire

Discussion in 'Player Support' started by Chaen, Apr 17, 2014.

1. Chaen

Are there any plans of releasing a DirectX 11 compatible client? More specifically for improvements in Crossfire performance. I've seen a few old threads with different things people have tried, but I admit I'm new to using Crossfire so some of the terminology is foreign to me. Any resources that someone might be able to direct me to that could help my understanding?

System specs:
    CPU: Intel I7 Sandybridge 2600k
    Motherboard: ASRock P67 Extreme6
    PSU: Seasonic 860W 80+ Platinum (71A on 12V rail)
    Graphics: MSI Twin Frozr Boost 7970 & Sapphire Boost 7970
    Memory: 8GB Patriot Gamer 2 series DDR3 (9-9-9-24 timings)
    Hard drives: 256 GB Patriot Pyro SSD, 1 TB WD Black storage, 320GB Seagate secondary storage (Linux drive)
    CPU cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus (120mm fan)
    • Up x 1
  2. namd3

DX11 is not yet supported, Smed tweeted earlier this year thats its being worked on, so at the present time PS2 use's DX9

Crossfire or Sli (nvidia's Multi-GPU configuration) isn't supported at the moment, its recommended you disable the 2nd card.

Lets hope Both these things are fixed in future updates, currently none of these have a road map slot (which they should)
  3. Octiceps

I'd recommend turning off CrossFire for PlanetSide 2 as AMD still has unresolved issues with DX9 frame pacing in its drivers which means DX9 games will have a lot of frame runts, drops, and tearing causing excessive microstuttering. SLI is fine though and unaffected. Frame pacing has been fixed for DX10/11 games though, so you'll have to wait for this game to become DX11 or for AMD to fix DX9 frame pacing in its drivers, whichever comes first.
  4. Sliced

I hope DX11 is being worked on, or DX12 now but I can't see if happening for a very long time.
  5. Octiceps

Wouldn't this game have to be DX11 in the near future if it's gonna be on PS4 soonish?