voice chat not working.

Discussion in 'Player Support' started by testsample, Feb 1, 2014.

1. testsample

Hi,
    I noticed in some videos from MattiAce and Moukass1 that they talk to their platoon members through voice chat, and when they talk, their name appears next to the squad list.
    I have been playing the game for more than 8 months and I have yet to come across a squad or platoon where they communicate through voice chat, I have never heard anyone speak and have never seen their name appear next to the squad list, so I think maybe I'm not connecting to the voice chat server or something, I've enabled voice chat in the settings but it didn't work.

help me please.

Edit: when I first installed mumble it didn't connect to a server, but I fixed later on by making it connect through a proxy because mumble's ports are blocked in my country (UAE), perhaps it's the same thing with the game's voice chat server?
  2. testsample

I tried forwarding the ports but it didn't work.
  3. Pikachu

I have noticed this too. Since a few weeks I almost never hear anything when someone talks. I have not changed volumes except making some players louder to no effect.
  4. testsample

The problem is that I don't know when someone is talking or not because when they talk not only I don't hear them, but their name doesn't appear as well. And I have this problem since day one and I'd just recently noticed it.
  5. peebee

I'm also seeing this issue. When you bring up the Social menu you should have a tabbed list (General, Squad, Platoon, etc) and in that list should be members who you can voice chat with. In the general tab will be people who are within proximity voice chat. Often times, when voice chat stops working, these lists are completely empty. Even though I'm standing next to 30 people it will show 0 members.

I'd like to understand more about how the voice chat system is setup.

Is it a dedicated voice chat server?