What do TR have that is the "best"?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by elkorin, Jun 11, 2013.

1. elkorin

I play all three factions. I did not plan to do this, but I found I got bored when the faction I was playing was extremely overpopulated, and tried the other 2. I started playing the "underdog" exclusively on Mattherson, which was often TR, sometimes NC. Vanu on Mattherson boasts a 60%+ population late at night, which made playing any faction boring. Boring for the vanu, seeing as they never got to fight anyone, boring for the others seeing as the fights were predetermined.

I left Mattherson and went to Connery. It seemed that the pops were pretty even there. Some parts of the day the NC have 40% or so pop, some parts of the day the Vanu do. The TR always have lowest pop it seems, except for rare occasions. Late at night, TR is barely able to hit 20%.

That said, I can't figure out what the TR is best at. I know a few things they are the worst at, but finding something where they are the best is more difficult.

They have the worst ESF. The only things that make their ESF special are its small size and speed/accel. Speed and accel are completely useless due to the way afterburner works. It's small size might make a difference in a dogfight, but since their rotary cannon does the least damage, that is hardly a good trade off.

They have the worst max ability. Lockdown is useful for bursters, yes, infuriatingly so. I hate the damn things when I fly my reaver. But other than that? worthless for the things you use maxes for. The ZOE is godlike, but I don't want to make this thread about that. The NC shield is a get out of jail free card if you learn to use it. Lockdown? It is just a giant "C4 Me" sign.