Forever Alone...No But Seriously SOE

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Spartan 117, Feb 19, 2013.

1. Spartan 117

I started playing this game with 4 friends. All long time vets from Planetside 1. Players who I have fought in thousands of battles with. Players who were wayyyyy more excited for this game then I was. For months, all they talked about was Planetside 2. After the first 2 months, all of them quit. Largely due to the low server populations, lack of large scale battles, lack of metagame, & poor base design.

Since then only 1 of 4 has tried playing the game since they all quit. He played for about 2 hours & couldn't be bothered to play any further. This concerns me a great deal. Players who were die hard Planetside players who were absolutely in love with the universe & lore cannot even be muster the will to log into Planetside 2. These are players with 1 year premium accounts & several thousand SC. If my personal circle is indicative of the playerbase to even a small degree, you should be very very concerned.

I know Planetside 2 was built with the intent of "Developing the game over 1.5 years" & content takes time. However, you need to realize in 2013's gaming market you don't have time. Players are fickle. If they don't get a good first impression with a product they move onto other games & regardless if you make sweeping changes down the road, they will never return. They have moved on.

Planetside's success is based upon server populations. I play on one of the most populated servers - Waterson & I can honestly say that Amerish/Easimar are almost always ghost towns. Even on Indar I commonly have to redeploy 3-4 times just to find a good battle. If you want this game to succeed you need to merge servers immediately.
  2. TheBloodEagle

If you're from PS1 then you should know how MMO development is. Not everything that everyone praises about PS1 was there at the beginning either.
  3. SgtBreastroker

They'll be back.