[Suggestion] Infiltrator 'Balancing' Mechanics Oversight

Discussion in 'Infiltrator' started by Render, Feb 5, 2013.

1. Render

(tl;dr at bottom)

Hi guys,
    I'm going to try keep this short. I've played inf a lot in PS2, but also tend to bounce around classes so I don't think i'm too biased. I'm a game dev myself so like to think I know a thing or two about balancing, and the pitfalls that are often fallen into.

To put it simply, the problem arises when these mechanics are compounded. The devs seem to have added these one by one, and have been balanced individually without thought that they would affect each other. This is actually a problem with other mechanics in PS2, and is not exclusive to Infiltrator.

Infiltrators get:
    -Cloak
    -Sniper rifles
    -Hacking

The 'balancing'/counter mechanics are:
    -Imperfect cloak (and gets even worse when moving),
    -Short timer on cloak,
    -Loud noises on cloak/uncloak,
    -IRNV*/thermal negates cloak,
    -Can't fire or perform actions while cloaked (plus a delay on uncloaking),
    -Can't regenerate shield or resupply while cloaked,
    -100 less HP,
    -Lack of weapon options (the SMG is a step in the right direction),
    -Exaggerated sniper bullet trails + distinctive noise,
    -Sniper scope sway,
    -Extremely short breath hold,
    -Only class not to get C4 (No AV/AA at all),
    -Most useless tool on the game (and gives 0xp),
    -Flinching (affects all, but Infiltrator by far the most),
    -Nerf to spotting x2 (again affects all but arguably Inf most),

Already we can see that infiltrators pay a much larger price for their unique assets, and the bad far outweighs the good. 13/15 of these are also exclusive to Infiltrator.

When certain mechanics are added together, it gets even worse: