Roadmap and 6 month plan

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Higby, Jan 25, 2013.

1. Jaloro

TLDR and wall of text.
  2. Turiel =RL=

Having a roadmap is quite nice. On the other hand reading the roadmap is not exactly encouraging. I am missing the words "Lattice System" and as a PS1 veteran I am quite allergic to the words "Orbital Strike". Most important though is that there is no clear solution to the rendering problem.

So far I cannot recognize any major changes, just attempt to make the current concept viable at any cost. That won't be working. I know it, everyone knows it and deep inside you know it too. A couple of SOE games had to be relaunched after radical chances and I think PS2 is due for this process also. Right now the game is much worse than it was in Beta and that is a clear indicator that all the decision about gameplay went into the wrong direction.

You got to move to DX11 in order to fix the rendering distance. DX9 may provide a few customers who are still on WinXP, but it's leading into a dead end. You cannot design games that are based on technology from 3 os-generations ago and expect to stay on the cutting edge.
  3. Strikejk

Nice one!
    I really like such Features in a game :)
    Keep up with it.

/offtopic
    Firefall had a Roadmap since last year
    It's great, but not a new development from SOE* :p
  4. raw

Higby, new Roadmap forum section is A+ except one minor thing: can you make it so we can quickly thump up/down from the thread overview? Right now we have to click on every thread and wait for it to load to give JGood his thumbs up (and down) but many of these things are such a no-brainer to up/down (and there's so many of them plus I am not really interested in reading the comments) that going through every one of them is real chore right now.
  5. Takoita

Some techical problems with this one, like buggy doubleposts out of nowhere or whole batches of posts disappearing in wee hours in the morning.