Why are MAX Units in this Game?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by ParagonExile, Mar 21, 2014.

1. ParagonExile

I'm just curious. I've been playing Medic and Engineer for a few months now and getting my *** handed to me over and over. It's pretty fun actually, if sometimes frustrating.

What isn't fun are MAX units; from what I can see, they serve no purpose that couldn't be taken up by the other classes and they're bloody annoying. Their 'take a full magazine of ammunition and don't die' ability is taken up by the heavy assault with its shield, their anti-air infantry weapon (Burster) could easily be given to the light assault or heavy assault and... well... nothing else really. Formation centerpiece I suppose?

They're a constant source of grief in the game, with their ridiculous Zealot Overdrive and Lockdown powers, dual-wield shotguns and damage resists giving them an insurmountable advantage in basically every fight, even against multiple players. The damage they sustain can be repaired in five seconds with two trailing engineers, allowing it to soak up the combined arms of a dozen people, to the point where it is sometimes better than a tank. This gets infinitely worse during MAX crashes.

Beyond that, it sort of goes against the nature of the game in that individual players (or a small number of players) can beat a larger number of players using brute force, rather than working as a part of a larger unit. That's just my opinion though, I suppose you could see it differently.

I understand I'm not exactly an authority on the issue (hell, my SPM and K/D are probably awful) but in my opinion, MAXes really detract from the game, more than anything else really. The game would be better off without them, with their useful teamplay elements spread to other classes.

And yes, I understand how to use C4 and Rockets to counter them, but still, ack.
    • Up x 3
  2. Paperlamp

I agree MAXes are a balance issue but you lost me here.