Will I always be blind as a bat?

Discussion in 'Monk' started by ARCHIVED-Zeniff, Jan 1, 2008.

1. ARCHIVED-Zeniff Guest

Couple questions from a complete newbie.
    Played EQ1 and trying to understand mechanics of EQ2.
    Made a human and I can't see squat in caves. Am I destined to be blind forever with a torch that lets me see about 1 inch away from my character, or are there items in games like eq1 that will give me near infra/ultra visions (cold/heatstones in eq1). I can't stand being blind like this.
    This info would be greatly appreciated if someone could provide.
    Thank you in advance.
  2. ARCHIVED-Idoru Guest

Zeniff wrote:
    Change your Ambient Light settings in the options menu. Or use these: http://eq2.wikia.com/wiki/Gnomish_Shades
  3. ARCHIVED-Cusashorn Guest

Increase your gamma settings.
  4. ARCHIVED-Siatfallen Guest

I've had this problem for a long time now as well. Blind as a bad, jumping randomly in the lower mistmoore catacombs, and hoping to land on ledges I have to remember from times when I've seen others play because I simply cannot see them.

I suspect I either have a very, very old and worn screen (it's getting very dark over all and has been so for the last, uh... Four years?), or it's a graphics card issue. Either way, you learn to live with it or, I guess, at least in my monitor, get another monitor. ;p

And yes, I'm having trouble seeing anything with brightness and gamma maxed.
  5. ARCHIVED-x0rtrunks Guest

CRT monitors will dim over time. I actually have to turn the brightness on my LCD down a bit because it's TOO bright.
  6. ARCHIVED-Deathspell Guest

I had the same issue, didn't see a thing during the night (ingame) and had to crank up the overall gamma setting, but i had to lower it again when it became daylight. I changed drivers, reset settings, reset monitor settings, max monitor settings...