Why is Warlock 'neutral' but Necro is 'evil' ?

Discussion in 'General Gameplay Discussion' started by Lovestar, Sep 7, 2014.

1. Lovestar Active Member

Hi... I'm not being snarky... honest question.

I'm trying to pick a class right now, and as I'm looking everything over it strikes me as odd that you have this split:
    • Necromancer: Master of death and decay. Dominates the undead. Channels disease and dark magic. Evil cities only! EVIL!!!
    • Warlock: Masters of death and decay. Channel poison and disease. Calls upon void and darkness to horribly destroy their foes. Available to happy Frogloks in Kelethin! Loves kittens and macramé!
    • Wizard: Summons fire balls and frost comets at things. Wears a pointy hat. Readily-available to angry elves with emotional disorders in Neriak.
    • Conjuror: Summons fire elementals and water bubbles at things. Wears a pointy hat. NOT ACCEPTABLE IN EVIL CITIES! FAR TOO NOBLE! GO BACK TO HALAS!
    I'm totally new to this game and its lore ... is there some in-story explanation for why Necros / Conjurors are considered very Evil / Good, while their non-pet-using analogues are totally neutral and welcome everywhere?

Usually in High Fantasy stuff I'd expect a Conjuror/Summoner to be totally neutral (like in most games) and a Warlock to be Evil-aligned. o.o??
  2. Tharrakor Well-Known Member

Warlocks used to be Evil only a while back, so did a lot of the other classes who can now be used in both alignments. I dunno why this was changed but it does'nt really bother me tho as its totally up to me, and personally i would never make a Qeynos Warlock =)
  3. Katanallama Well-Known Member

Honestly they need to make them all neutral. A tree hugging ranger can be evil, a deadly assassin can be good, but a swashbuckling pirate who wants to be evil? Boulder dash!

either neutral classes or neutral deities :3
    Mezaka, Xillean and Ruckus like this.
  4. Lovestar Active Member