What is the status of EQ II ?

Discussion in 'Tips, Tricks, and New Player Questions' started by ARCHIVED-batsu336, May 25, 2007.

1. ARCHIVED-batsu336 Guest

[p] [/p][p]Hello all,[/p][p] I am new to EQ II. I know it has been out a while, and I am kind of concerned about the size of the player base. Of course WoW is huge and LotRO just started, but I really like this game and want to make sure that there have been no rumblings of it ending for an EQ 3 or anything like that. I know there is an expansion due out near the end of the year, but I know of a few MMOs in the past that closed shortly after releasing expansions because sales were less than expected.[/p][p]I used to play the original EQ when it first came out, and loved that until my wimpy computer back then crapped out. I was also on the closed beta of Everquest Online Adventures for the PS 2. I have played SW:G, WoW (for way too long), and most recently, LotRO. I was less than impressed with LotRO, so decided to come back to EQ. This is by far the best MMO I have tried in a long time. The crafting has not been "dumbed down" to a simple click and create, and the graphics are beautiful. By the way, if anyone is curious about trying LotRO...give it at least a year before you try it. It has major latency and Vista compatibility issues, and while the graphics have the potential to be really good, the player models are still very bland at this point. I could go on and on, but will simply say everything about EQII, graphically and game-content considered, is superior, except for water reflections and LotRO's nifty way of having skills/spells become more powerful after repeated use (and tracking that progress). WoW was fun for quite a while, but lacked depth for me, especially in crafting and variety of questing. Anyhow, I know my concern is probably groundless, but I was just wondering what the player base was now.[/p][p]Hope to see you out there soon.[/p]
  2. ARCHIVED-Greyshield Guest