undecided on race/class combo

Discussion in 'Tips, Tricks, FAQs, and New Player Discussion' started by Stareintothevoid, Dec 27, 2014.

1. Stareintothevoid New Member

I'm a f2p and I know I shouldn't care what race/combo I am. But being undecided has made me stay stuck with zero progress. I prefer to do things solo if I can in MMOs. But I will join with groups and do what I can to get by if I must. I've read that most/all classes can solo on EQ2 these days but I'm still new to this game so please correct me if possible.

I just seem to want something that would be "efficient" not that I'm a hardcore player. I've never tanked before so I'm sort of weary about playing a shadowknight or berserker and I would to avoid making people rage. I know this will come down to opinion and what I like but what would seem to be most "new player" friendly solo race/class combo. Again I know this will come down to me but I just wanted maybe some suggestions or even a flat out "general consensus" type opinion of new player should/could play as.
  2. Leeroy 16 year vet. Forum lurker. Altaholic.

Race is purely your choice. Racial statistics don't count for much past level 20. The abilities a few have, such as tracking or water breathing, can be useful if you are not rolling a class that has those capabilities. Otherwise, play what is aesthetically pleasing to you.

If you want to do a lot of soloing but don't want a tank, I highly recommend either the Inquisitor, Warden, Necromancer, or Conjuror.

The first two are melee healers and can self-cure, self-heal, rez other players and do pretty good dps (the Inquisitor more so than the Warden). The Warden has more utility (you can cast your own druid rings and evac yourself or the group) but wears leather and is squishier than the Inquisitor, who wears plate. The Inq also has the ability to stand still and not be interrupted while casting. My main is my Inquisitor and I use him solo a lot.