Thinking of playing a healer

Discussion in 'Tips, Tricks, FAQs, and New Player Discussion' started by Drona, Mar 16, 2018.

1. Drona Well-Known Member

I have been playing EQ2 since Nov 2004 and never played anything other a fighter!

I am now thinking of leveling a healer from scratch but I can't really decide which healer class to level. So any help is appreciated!

I would like to be able to solo well and mainly do heroics as a single healer and may be raid as well in the future. It doesn't have to the best healer in game right now but something fun to play, have some utility, decent dps and viable for soemthing. One things I would like to do is able to solo the healer epic 2.0 if I can. Too much to ask yes but hey!

Druids - Warden/Fury seems to do very well but there are too many already, so they are on the bottom of the list.
    Shamans - From what I see, they are in great demand for raids but they are low on DPS these days?
    Clerics - Templar seems like good single target healer but again low end of DPS? Looks like not many people play inquisitors at all these days. Are they crap now?
    Channeler - I hardly see any these days. Is this because they are not god or they are hard to play?

So given all that, any suggestions? :)
  2. Finora Well-Known Member

My experience does not include high level grouping/raiding however, I can certainly offer up opinions from soloing.

Any healer can solo pretty fairly well. The way solo instances are tuned, they don't seem to give healers much issue, especially if you have access to mercenaries to do some of your dps. You won't kill things as fast as some other classes, but you really will never have to worry about dying.

I personally prefer mystics and wardens for that, but those are the ones I've played longest so that likely has a lot to do with my preference.