The Chronicles of the Gnomish Widgetwatcher Family, Part I: Spus of Klick'Anon

Discussion in 'Traveler's Tales' started by ARCHIVED-Spus, Jan 6, 2005.

1. ARCHIVED-Spus Guest

I'm a newbie at this, I'm also posting this over at the EQOA forums- plan on making this a continuing series which eventually leads to generation 4(EQ2 Spus)- If I'm any good at it anyways.

As Told by Gigzan Widgetwatcher of Ak’Anon
    [Grandson of SpusI, Father of SpusII]

Of Spus of Klick’Anon

Born to 2 unsuccessful engineering parents, Ebner and Maxi, (Them having some of the worst accident rates of the city- even by Gnomish standards. Spus’s parents continually screwed up various clockworks and contraptions they were handed responsibility of- The Gnomish elders, in an attempt to avoid further damage to the town, assigned the Senior Widgetwatcher parents to attempt to repair the bridge in front of town- Then known as the Bridge of Amazing Impracticability... They never succeeded.) Spus was the typical gnome child. He spent much of his time figuring out how things worked, however, upon disassembly, he could never put it back together right. The Widgetwatchers have some sort of curse- the two things gnomes are usually great at- Magic and Machinery, they aren’t very good with. This has never stopped them from trying. Spus’s parents would not take any other job besides engineering out of a Gnome’s pride- even if they destroyed whatever they were trying to fix further. I myself was recently banned by the Wizard’s guild after striking a clockwork with a lightning bolt and sending it on a blind rampage through the town… I was trying to cast an invisibility spell. They did not believe me, it was only the 7th time I did that. 8th maybe. Okay, Okay, it was more like 23 times, but I never intended to do it a single time. We Widgetwatchers are just horrible with the stuff. I finally swallowed my pride, and became a librarian and historian. But this story is about Spus, not myself.