Spell upgrade question

Discussion in 'Conjuror' started by ARCHIVED-Arishkogol, Oct 18, 2010.

1. ARCHIVED-Arishkogol Guest

First off, I apologize if this is answered in one of the many great guides here, I've read through them and didn't see it, but I could just be blind.

So, most of the time, when I gain a level and I get a new spell it will just replace the old one in my hotbar. But, sometimes it won't. Specifically, I had Aery Hunter (master) and I received Aery Hunter II (apprentice) it said it wasn't replacing it (though, to the best of my EQII reading ability, didn't specify why exactly, thus my posting). I was unsure as to why this was happening, figuring it might think (and be right?) that my level I master was more powerful than lvl II apprentice. In an attempt to answer my own question I went out and bougth the highest level I could, which was lvl II Adept (i'm a newb and broke) and the same thing happens. it says it's not going to overwrite my master one.

Question: Is my Aery Hunter (master) better than my Aery Hunter II (adept)?
    Second question: Is there any way to tell for future issues like this?

I'm sure this is an easy answer and I'm just an unseasoned adventurer, so I appreciate any help.

Thanks!
  2. ARCHIVED-Laiina Guest

Well first off, Aery Hunter in any form is pretty much a waste of space in the spell book or bars, but that does not answer your question. For low level solo nearly always the tank pet, and for higher level everything usually the mage pet.
    It will not usually replace a Master spell with a new Apprentice spell. The reason is that quite often the lower Master is better than the next tier apprentice. As to why it will not replace the old Master with a new Adept is a mystery known only to SOE.
  3. ARCHIVED-Lamprey_02 Guest