Singular Focus

Discussion in 'Monk' started by ARCHIVED-brassmonkeyc738, Aug 27, 2012.

1. ARCHIVED-brassmonkeyc738 Guest

I'm fairly new to EQ2 and I started a monk recently. I noticed early on when I hit mobs with a shuriken or just about any attack I occasionally get an AOE effect that I hadn't intended. Early on its not such a big deal, but I took the monk into the Rumbler Caves in Thundering Steppes and was overwhelmed several times by adds that shouldn't have been agro'd. I've had singular focus on at all times. I thought singular focus was supposed to prevent unwanted AOE attacks. What am I doing wrong? Do I need to bug this? Or is this intended?
  2. ARCHIVED-Silzin Guest

you have probably spent points in Crane Twirl. this is where the 20% AoE auto is coming from, it also have a blue aoe proc on attack. so if there are things around you dont want to agro just turn this ability off. you dont need Singular Focus to do that at this level.
  3. ARCHIVED-brassmonkeyc738 Guest

Thanks for the response. I checked out that AA and it does appear to be the same effect that I see happening, but I'm 99% sure I haven't put any points into that AA yet (can't check at the moment, but I carefully checked the AA's I have last night). I've only put points into the first column. So just in case I'm wrong, how would I go about turning this ability off? Is it a buff? If its just another attack, then I know I don't have that ability as I've never used it.
    And just an FYI, I seem to remember this happening from very early on (maybe level 10) before I had spent any AA points. It would happen about 20% of the time when I threw a shuriken at anything. I've had times where the effect agro'd up to 8 nearby mobs that were not normally agro. It made the game interesting at that point, but now not so much now.
  4. ARCHIVED-denomad Guest

Could just be social aggro even though the adds are not part of the encounter.
  5. ARCHIVED-brassmonkeyc738 Guest

denomad wrote: