Out with the Old

Discussion in 'Off Topic Discussion' started by Survivor, Nov 13, 2012.

1. Survivor New Member

Could someone please enlighten me as to why I need to upgrade my browser? If it works with the old one it should work with the new. I used to be a web site programmer and I all ways made sure my web sites worked with the old as well as the new, that went for computers as well as browsers (not everyone can afford to have the latest and greatest). BTW I am using Explorer 7. This is not just about EQ forums but about all the sites I am running into that wants the newest and the greatest.
  2. Sure Active Member

The only real reason to get the most current versions of software is almost entirely security/safety related, on the features front nothing really has happened that has been ground shaking since maybe 1999, mostly hype in my book. Maybe the only big thing will be when Flash finally dies and everyone uses the HTML streaming thing, if and when they can ever agree and get stuff done on it and have a standard.

On the security, exploits, remote hacking/jacking front, its pretty important to get current especially if you do any sort of business online be that shopping online or viewing your utility bills/bank/insurance etc stuff online.

From a dev perspective its actually nice to just deal with one platform instead of 20+ am including OS and web browser combo in that, it should not make a difference but for some things it does. The forever backwards compatibility is horrid for getting a product out that is tested and stable. Maybe one day web browsers will stop evolving and everyone can gravitate to one or two on one version each that just works and has minimal issues, for all sides on all platforms, that includes smartphones, tablets, PC what ever flavor and anything else I missed.