new to EQ2, class roles help

Discussion in 'Spells, Abilities, and General Class Discussion' started by ARCHIVED-warhound77, Oct 3, 2010.

1. ARCHIVED-warhound77 Guest

I played EQ2 for a month when it was released so essentially I'm new to it. I played EQ for years (had a shaman), WoW for years (had a vanilla prot warrior and most recently fury warrior), LOTRO (champ), etc etc...
    I'm having trouble figuring out the inteded class roles for the EQ2 classes... are all the "fighter" types essentially tank types/scouts dps etc? Are there certain classes that are better tanks or healers than others? I've been toying around with a few classes so far only to about lvl 7... berserker, pally, sk, monk, mystic i think i've all tried but none have stood out as "oh definately this one" or "definately not this one" yet at such low levels.
    It seems there have been some major changes to how the classes play since release so it's been hard to find up to date information.
  2. ARCHIVED-Sedenten Guest

Trying to find a guide would be futile, since all guides are based on opinion for the most part. Every expansion the roles of classes can change based on new abilities via AA's or spells. Last I heard, one of the developers was working on something to this effect which will be used to better define what the role of each class is and would serve as a design guide for future development of classes. The below is based a lot on opinion and what you'll see in the current raid environment of EQ2. It's by no means an end-all guide for class roles, but should give you a basic idea to go off of. I would suggest looking up class guides for whatever classes you're most interested in to get much more detail on what they can do.
    There are some classes that simply aren't needed as much in a raid (i.e. fighters) while other classes are packed into every group in a raid (i.e. enchanters/bards).
    Fighters = tanks
    Priests = healers
    Scouts = melee DPS
    Mage = caster DPS