New Player

Discussion in 'Tips, Tricks, FAQs, and New Player Discussion' started by Leloes, Mar 4, 2013.

1. Leloes Well-Known Member

My brother wants to start playing EQ2. He's really green when it comes to computer games. He's green as green can be. He's never played any computer games but he wants to team up with me and give it a go. I'm new at this so I'm not sure I can help him(about two weeks new). My quest is he wants to play a magick user but I don't know which one to recommend to him. Any suggestions?
  2. Skwor Active Member

Coose an Illusionist/coecer, conji/necro.

Illy/coecer because they are easier to get groups with and easier to solo on than a wizard/warlock and will provide very useful group buffs when you team up.

Conji/necro because they are easier to solo with and effectively provide the same dps on a group level as a wizard or warlock.

Wizard or warlock may be the "popular common" magic user choice but they can be difficult to get groups with and are a bit less intuitive to learn how to dps on compared to conji/necro where a good part of there dps comes from there pets.

My 2 cents, btw I have nearly 14 years as a wizard in eq1, 7 years(9 if you count vet awards) as a wizard in eq2 and 5 as an Illy in eq2. I also have 4 years as a mystic in eq2 and my latest project is taking an inqy to 95.
  3. Leloes Well-Known Member

Sounds good. Which ones good and which and which are evil? I'm a paladin and we plan on playing together so I can give him some help. As much as I can because still a newbie myself.
  4. Ajjantis Well-Known Member

Have him play an Illusionist then, other than that a dirge would make more sense but that is a scout, not a magic user.
  5. Skwor Active Member

LOL I was going to say coecer for the melee buffs but truth is Illy/Coercer will both work very well with a Pally.