New Player Questions

Discussion in 'Tips, Tricks, FAQs, and New Player Discussion' started by cdbailey85, Sep 6, 2020.

1. cdbailey85 New Member

Hey guys,

I'm new to the game. Like really new. I started playing yesterday... I know, I know. I'm late to the party.

I did try EQ2 back at launch and probably still have my physical copy somewhere but my PC wasn't able to run it and then I fell into other games and due to the friendships I'd made, EQ2 became something I was always interested in but never had the chance to play.

I'm in the UK and had a quick play as a F2P player over there but felt a little bit overwhelmed walking into a game that's had so many updates and expansions. Then I read about the progression servers and how content was "released" in waves, this felt like it was more suited to me and less to take in all at once. So I subbed and here I am.

The first thing that struck me was the fact there is no EU progression server which has forced me onto Kaladim. Anyway, this is starting to look like one of those recipe blogs that gives you a life story before cutting to the chase - here are my questions.

1. Are the progression servers a good fit for new players? I know the answers seems obvious but my chat log doesn't seem to be filled with anything other than high level players looking to do high level things. The general chat channel is largely dead, the few things I typed there went unnoticed and I also never saw anyone else use the channel either. Is communication done differently here?
    2. What's the EU population like here? I'm a new, low level, casual player. Will I be able to find a guild? I couldn't seem to see any that specifically stated they were EU/UK based and the one I did message said he was only up this late because it was the weekend... it was 9am for me lol