Mastercrafted vs Regular (Armorsmith)

Discussion in 'Tradeskills' started by Rist, Jun 22, 2014.

1. Rist New Member

I am new to the server and was happily leveling my tradeskills when I noticed that all the mastercrafted armors using the rare materials....were worse than their regular counterparts, like hugely bad.

For example the Carbontite X would be 12 DPS, the Feysteel (next tier upgrade AND rare material) would be 8DPS with a little more str/sta/armor.

Is this intended? Am I doing something wrong? Is it always going to be like this?

Thinking of just dropping armorsmith
  2. Sambril Well-Known Member

Since you mention str I assume you are looking at fighter plate mail. Since fighters are intended to be tanks str/sta/armor are far more important than secondary stats like dps. In any case the increased str will directly improve your dps.

For example:

Carbonite Vanguard Cuirass (level 20 handcrafted plate chest) has 150 mitigation, +10 str, +10 sta, +6 weapon skills
    Feysteel Vanguard Cuirass (level 32 mastercrafted plate chest) has 236 mitigation, +20 str, +20 sta, +6 weapon skills

The feysteel is far superior in its intended role as tank armor.
  3. Rist New Member

Feysteel van gussets 18/18 8.8 DPS
    Carb van guessts 10/10 9.6 DPS

According to http://www.eq2flames.com/shadowknights/55748-shadowknight-info-noobs-long.html , which is somewhat outdated (reitemization to hit harder less times) : 6 str = 1 dps

So for a whole 10 levels teir upgrade, and a rare material you are looking at equal dps. I don't see how that make sense. Sure you get more beef, but it feels like it should be an upgrade all around. Compare them to the felliron gussets with 12 dps, and who would take a 4 dps nerf for a little bit of armor on a "superior" item.
  4. Sambril Well-Known Member

While the itemization might appear strange, the increased strength, stamina and mitigation more than compensate for a small loss in a secondary stat.
  5. Axterix Active Member