Considering returning - is it pay to win?

Discussion in 'Tips, Tricks, FAQs, and New Player Discussion' started by Suzina, Dec 20, 2012.

1. Suzina New Member

I started playing EQ2 in beta and quit less than a year after launch. I'm considering returning to EQ2 after all these years. It looks like so much has been added since I left, I don't know where to even start. But I have to ask first and foremost, is this game pay-to-win?

I'm just coming from a game where best-in-slot equipment is being sold for cash. I left LOTRO because you could purchase stats and end-game crafting materials for money. Does real life money give you a gameplay advantage in EQ2?

Thanks for your time,
    -Suzina.
  2. Ivory Member

Most of the items that are available on the market are convenience and appearance items. There are a few very nice potions for Exp to speed up leveling and things like that. If you have a free or silver level membership, you will need to buy unlockers to used legendary or fable gear and master level spells. But to my knowledge there are no useable combat items available to purchase on the marketplace.
  3. Natsume Member

SC = Useless, no combat advantage.
    Membership = HUGE advantage.

Without a GOLD membership, you can't use any FABLED, LEGENDARY or MYTHICAL items. Those items tend to be much stronger, so locking them to members only does give them an advantage.

EQ2 is a really fun game, regardless of the restrictions. If your into Raids and all, then you will need to P2P, however, if you just going to do some ... crafting, questing at your level, then the difference wouldn't be that vast. And you can earn your rewards quite well.
  4. Estred Well-Known Member