Coming back to EQ2

Discussion in 'Mages' started by Gnax, May 29, 2014.

1. Gnax New Member

Greetings fellow mages and other non-finger wigglers!

I've just re-downloaded the game for another go at EQ2 (last time I played was beginning of 2013 I think). Just finished playing a bit of SWTOR, but was greatly missing the depth of Norrath. I started playing EQ2 at release and actually helped create a guild on the second or third day of the game going live. Granted, I'll be the only active member, but I shall keep Eclipse alive (Butcherblock server)!

Anyway, I've decided to come back to the game but am in need of your vast knowledge! I'd love any pointers or suggestions you might have.

Basically I'll be soloing with my necro (link to gear and AA's below) and trying to get to 95. I'm not in a real rush, but I have a feeling I'm pretty well under-geared for the current times. I'm in the Eidolon Jungle solo quest line, but not real sure how far into it.

I do have a couple tradeskillers (tailor and sage - around lvl 92) who should be able to make mastercrafted items when I need them. Oh, and I have every expansion (incl Chains of Eternity) except the Tears of Veeshan.

My questions are:

What are the great resources out there that I should be looking at instead of asking everyone for their help on this forum? ;)

Any kind of a "Hey, I just resurrected my never raided level 92 character and it's been 18 months since I logged in... Things have changed a bunch and I don't know where to start to make heads or tails of anything!" guide/blog out there?

Is there a set of gear I should be looking to get that won't take months of time to acquire? I remember the grind of trying to do the void shards... Was pretty painful but I'll do it again if I need to.

Do I need to get Tears of Veeshan?

I don't know where else to begin asking questions so anything you might be able to provide, I'd greatly appreciate it!