Best Mage Cass to Molo with?

Discussion in 'Mages' started by zoutai, Jul 10, 2013.

1. zoutai New Member

Hi all

I'm pretty new to EQ2. I've got three characters around lvl 40 (Bruiser, Berserker, Inquisitor). I've been enjoying them so far, but what I really like is taking on the heroic content with a merc. I can't schedule my real life around games anymore so having a constant group just doesn't work.

I'm wanting to change up my playstyle a bit and try out a ranged class. I don't really know the classes that well (EQ2 is awesomely complicated at times) so I was hoping to get some feed back on which mage and merc have good enough synergy to tackle heroic stuff.

Thank you for any advice.
  2. KhaineUK Active Member

I'd say go for a pet based class.

Something like a conjy or necro + merc. You could grab the shadowknight merc and then go full ranged with your mage (say your class + mage pet), or you could grab the inquisitor and use a tank pet instead.
    Deveryn likes this.
  3. Deveryn Well-Known Member

Now that auto-assist is working for pet classes, it's really easy to molo with them. Both summoners also have abilities to help keep their tank mercs going, whether it be healing or stoneskins. I've used the SK and paladin.
  4. Sapienta Active Member

I use the paladin, Jennis, with my conjurer (level 47), and the shadowknight, Vittia, with my necromancer (level 26). I've been very happy with the conjurer/paladin combo and usually only run into trouble if I do something stupid. The SK/necro combo has not been as reliable - at least not for my playstyle - so I may change it up.

I've also been using Jennis with my illusionist, but she's only level 21 so hasn't hit any of the harder content yet.
  5. KhaineUK Active Member

I used the Shadowknight with my Conjuror (Level 91) to do withered lands quests.

Conjy + Mage pet with the SK. It works very, very well. :)
  6. zoutai New Member

Sounds great guys thank you for the advice.
  7. Slant Well-Known Member