[Armor] What's the deal?

Discussion in 'Look and Feel' started by ARCHIVED-saniterium85, Jan 28, 2008.

1. ARCHIVED-saniterium85 Guest

So I'm somewhat new to the game and I was looking through the broker to check out the armor for the levels to come for my Paladin. What I saw shocked and disappointed me. I noticed that for every part of the body (leg, shoulder, etc.) there are a whopping TWO armor models for each. The only difference between them is there are three or four color changes. Did SOE really think this was acceptable? I mean come on, two armor designs total? I don't mean to compare this to WoW, but that game had hundreds of completely different armor types for each armor type (plate, cloth, etc.). This almost feels like it has a production value that an 11 year old on allowance could produce. I don't mean this as trolling or bashing, or whatever, but it seemed crazy to me. Anyone else bothered by this?
  2. ARCHIVED-Wyrmypops Guest

Yeah, it's always been that way, and always been a bit of a downer. Just a pair of plate frameworks, with different paints jobs. Same with the other armour types though. Even the paint jobs on the armours get repeated.
    But, (da Dah DAHN) all that may change. In the now dim and distant past we were told the devs were working on a skeletal revamp. At the moment every item made needs to be modelled multiple times to fit each race/gender. With such a skeletal core in place, the work involved with making items would be severely reduced.
    From that, we, the community, have extrapolated wildly (desperately really). This skeletal revamp could lend itself to the easier creation of new and interesting armours. Possibly drawing upon related imagery (like furs from Everfrost, Lava designs from Solusek, etc). It could lend itself to the creation of additional emote animations (like racial dances).
    But we ain't heard anything about the skeletal revamp since it first got mentioned, so who knows eh.