Merc Question

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by GnomeGnomeGnome, Feb 20, 2024.

1. GnomeGnomeGnome Elder

I am fairly new to Mercs, so I want to check out what the recent opinion is.

I feel like the Tank is by far the best, and the others not nearly as effective. But I am still only level 45, so I was wondering if I should learn the way to use the other types of Merc. Or do people only ever use the tank?
  2. CatsPaws No response to your post cause your on ignore

Depends on what class you are and your playstyle and if your talking Journeyman or Apprentice mercs.

I main a Ranger and have always used the healer merc. Tried the tank but I did better tanking so the healer was better for me, plus I really learned my class.

My alt is an Enchanter and she works better with a tank merc.

Others say to run the tank till level 60 and he will level you up. I have never found that worked that well even when trying a tank on other classes. Maybe I just like to get in the fray and fight as opposed to standing on the side lines throwing out heals.

I found the caster mercs to be worthless, and the melee ones are ok as back up.

These are my opinions for you to consider and I am sure others will weigh in with their thoughts. Just remember not a single one of us are right or wrong. Its all how you play the game:D
    Rijacki likes this.
  3. Gialana Augur

The caster dps merc does more dps than the tank merc at some of the lower levels and tanks just as well or better than tank merc. I say better because you can put them on AE burn to simultaneously keep aggro on multiple mobs. On the downside, if an npc gets down to 10% health or so, the caster merc will sometimes refuse to cast spells on the mob, so you'd have to do the last bit of dmg yourself. Another downside is if you pull deep red mobs, the tank merc can slowly whittle down the mobs health, but the caster npc will get a lot of partial and full resists.