Does Anyone Recommend Everquest Anymore?

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Bobokin, Mar 8, 2024.

1. Bobokin Augur

You know you have a problem when you have to hide your Evercrack, and no one knows what it actually is anyway.

A few years ago, I told some high school age gamers that I play Everquest, and one asked, "Is that a game from the 1980s?"
    Zolav likes this.
  2. Bobokin Augur

It is awful. Even with a map, it is a complete mess.
  3. Zolav Augur

OHH my... LOL.
  4. Act of Valor The Newest Member

I used to know that zone well enough, I got my BIBS and crown from there.

Nowadays I don't understand how I could have remembered navigating that mess, especially without a map. I wonder what changed, other than me getting dumber.
  5. Bobokin Augur

Unless a server is appreciable different and much better honed and curated for a different purpose, I have no need for a TLP server. I have been playing Everquest since 1999, and I don't really need to grind through all of those levels again.

TLP is a niche product that some players enjoy, but it isn't going to save Everquest.
  6. Joules_Bianchi A certain gnome

I recommend EQ as a game and a walk through, play through history lesson of gaming mechanics.

If you follow through EQ's expansions and archived news website stories about them and read archival internet archived threads on dead EQ fan sites, etc actual gaming mechanics made news.

I remember very early on actual TV news and Large distribuition paper and web news talking about mobs being social and actually running to get help.

I remember some website like Business Insider doing a whole story explaining virtual economy to neophyte business developers and how amazed they were at people spending real life dollars on virtual entities.

Ever see summining mobs before EQ?

Ever see a zone that changed the character model of and to every player seeing them? (Grieg's End named mobs)