Starting an enchanter, few questions.

Discussion in 'Casters' started by Tadkins, Jul 17, 2023.

1. Tadkins Elder

Seems like an interesting class that I'd like to explore. Was just wondering about a couple of things before I jump in though.

1. Is a deity going to hurt me in the long run? Picking a Drakkin ench.
    2. As far as moloing goes, should I choose a tank merc and buff him/pull for him, or should I choose a healer merc and have it buff my animation/charms? I'm a F2P player using apprentice mercenaries for the record.
    3. Speaking of charming, is it considered as OP on Live as it is on P99?

Thanks in advance. :)
  2. Spacemonkey555 Augur

1) Agnostic stops you from being kill on sight in most cities iirc, and where you are kos you can use illusions to beat it. I know agnostic was considered the right choice back in 2003 when I made my chanter. Religion matters much less in the expansions, level 65+.
    2) Tank merc will tank and keep his hp up with regen up until iirc level 60-70. FTP will weaken your merc some not sure how much.
    3) There's a 20% damage nerf for charm pets from classic to Luclin. There used to be a 50% nerf at oow+, not sure if that still applies.
    Tadkins likes this.
  3. Tadkins Elder

True that. I'm genuinely curious how Veeshan is going to affect me out there in the world. Such an interesting deity. Figure enchanters have enough faction manipulation tactics to bypass whatever hits I take from that though.

Thanks for the response. :)
  4. 6502 Lorekeeper

Deity essentially stops mattering for faction after like... Kunark. By TSS you're well into the era where factions are just a bar you grind for progression purposes.
  5. Domniatric Augur

Charm really falls off in later expansions.

In early expansions charm pets chew through multiple mobs before ever needing a heal. With a cleric complete healing your charm pet you might keep the same pet all night.

In later expansions charm pets gets wrecked and do mediocre damage.