Hot Take - Raid Size

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Lemmings, Jul 13, 2023.

1. Strawberry Augur

I'm not a game developer, but I assume smaller raids would also be easier to manage for developers.

I mean, the initial suggestion of EQ's development team years ago, to downsize raid size, was partly due to a desire to simplify game design for developers.
  2. Riou EQResource

WoW did this like 2 years into the games life, it also has acceptable class balance, and attracts new players

WoW also didn't do this to make raids easier, they did it to make raids harder as there are less people now that can fail before you wipe, and the average person has to be stronger in order to succeed
    FYAD likes this.
  3. Emilari UI Designer

Raiders choose which guild they join. A simple solution to this hypothetical would be to join a raid guild that doesn't use a DKP system.

A solution to the verbal abuse is don't stay in a guild that tolerates that sort of behaviour. It's worked out fine for me for the last 17 years.
    Windance, Yinla and Ozon like this.
  4. Vaeeldar Augur

You must not live in the USA. All of it works in capitalism. And 100% it's allowed in the world day in and day out - hence why unions have shrunk so much.

I have no issue with it, can't tell if this post is a parody, but if not it's pretty funny all the same.
  5. Ozon Augur

I must be reading this wrong, 1) mandatory overtime is absolutely a thing in the real world in certain professions, its just not common. 2) Companies are not required to pay overtime for employees who aren't working if non exempt. That's the entire point of hourly wages, you get paid for the time you work. As far as DKP, every DKP guild I've been in, DKP is awarded based on attendance, as long as I show up and participate to at least the minimum I got DKP. I didn't get DKP if I wasn't on.

EQ isn't work, but also if someone expects to be rewarded for not logging in, that is a completely separate reality check.