What server to start on

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Dorotea, Dec 17, 2016.

1. Dorotea New Member

I am new to EQ though I have been playing MMOs since before EQ. I decided to finally give the original EQ a try at least for 3 months (the all access option I chose).

Where is a good place to start? I don't need a progression server for nostalgia for EQ before the later expansions - I have no nostalgia. I also don't need an end-game guild or even a server with much endgame action - I am going to slowly play through the early parts of the game with differing races and classes to get a feel for what this historic game is like.

On the other hand I don't want an empty server with few people to chat with and few people to group with before high level. I tend to enjoy low population servers but low population doesn't mean almost totally empty.

Are all the "normal" servers empty due to a flood of players to the progression servers - so I should go to the latter even if I have no interest in the progression mechanic?

There is a newer progression server which attempts to limit a certain type of multiboxing if I read it correctly - and gives faster xp than the original EQ but slower than earlier progression servers. it also automatically adds expansions on a timed basis with no vote. is this a good or bad choice for a total newcomer?

Thanks.
  2. moogs Augur

Luclin and Bristlebane are very good servers with lots of friendly people that enjoy helping newbies. There is no need to group before level 70 so most keep to themselves. I've been spending some time in newbie areas all week and there is definitely activity at the low levels. If you're the type to walk up to a stranger at around the same level and ask if you can join, you'll get as many groups as you can handle.

Welcome.
  3. Xoner Baby Joesph Sayer