Test Server unavailable for over 44 hours now

Discussion in 'Player Support' started by Stonne, Nov 7, 2016.

1. Stonne New Member

I normally do not like to be negative but I worked in IT for 30 + years and this situation does not look very professional. I find it very difficult to believe that a server that is open to the public is not monitored for problems. I would have lost my job if I did not take proper steps to monitor these types of servers. In these times, the process is not complicated at all.

I believe that characters that were logged into the Test server early on Saturday and did not log off are fine. However, from around 3:00 pm Eastern on Saturday the test server has not been available in the list of choices after login.

A simple automated alarm is usually set up to monitor network access to public servers. If correction of the problem cannot take place quickly, then automated or manual messages typically go out to inform people of the basic situation.

I understand that the test server is not a priority and typically may not get any service over a weekend. I also understand that issues with the live servers may be consuming all the time of support staff.

What I do expect is some type of acknowledgement that there is an issue. A notice (automated or manual) should have been posted somewhere to let people know that there is a problem with access to the test server. It currently looks as if no one at Daybreak knows of the issue and that is what I find unprofessional.
  2. Holyfires Elder