Help With Gear and Progression In The Early 90s

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Fenlenus, May 25, 2015.

1. Fenlenus New Member

So I recently started playing again and am kind of wondering what to do. I had a bunch of characters in the late 80s area, I bought the current expacs and have been progressing a bit more into the very early 90s. (91-92) It's going okay but I keep seeing all these posts about HA's taking 20-30mins or 10-15 with a level 100 and I can't seem to get anywhere close to that fast. My current setup is a 92 SK, 91 Bard, 87 Wizard, and a friend playing an 87 Magician. Everyone but bard is subbed with autogrant AA, bard has 1100 AA.

My issue is that it seems my SK gets destroyed by mobs, I can only tank 2 mobs max and that's with some scary moments, 3 is death and nameds are out of the question. My SK currently has the 1h weap/shield and 2h from HA 90 vendor and Abstruse armor.

Do I just need to rough it out in HAs? Is there an armor set that isn't too bad to farm/get/buy besides this HA gear? Am I dumb for even having SK and not using a tank merc? I feel like HA's are hard and taking too long, but I feel like I need to do them to get gear and not suck. :(
  2. Kolani Augur

I responded on Reddit as well, but that Abstruse is horribly out of date. He needs Lucid at the very minimum or Boreal if possible. Also, remember that the vaunted shadowknight ability to tank multiple mobs at once only applies in general to light blues.
    moogs likes this.
  3. Endless Augur