Operation Everquest

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Wylder, Dec 20, 2014.

1. Wylder New Member

Hi, all!

My name is Jt (45 male - Texas), and I'm completely new to Everquest. I've played several Mmorpg's, including WoW, GW, GW2, Lotro, etc so I know my way around so to speak. It's just time for a change. I've just got done reading the back-lore and overview for Everquest, and have to say I'm pretty intrigued and excited! I've mostly heard good things whenever Everquest was the topic of conversation. So, after 15 years I've finally pulled the trigger, lol.

If there is any experienced wisdom any of you care to share that might help me in my maiden journey, it'd be both welcomed and appreciated.

Great to be here!
  2. Borek-VS Augur

It's only a race if you want it to be - there are many different play styles, so do what you feel you want to do.

Experiment with different class/race combos, it's hard to mess up.

Do run through the tutorial, and don't give up if you don't like the graphics or the keyboard controls; this isn't a twitch game. It's ok to research quests - Allakhazam will be a good resource for you.

Hire a tank merc for at least your first 60 levels.

Make friends, form your own groups, and join a friendly guild.
  3. Malkavius Augur

First of all try to realize eq is older than any other mmorpg and it shows. The graphics and the ui tend to turn off most new players. As well as the lack of quest hand holding theme park style of most mmorpgs. Although the heroes journey falls into that category a bit.

If you can look past the games age there is a lot of fun to be had.
  4. Crystilla Augur

Have to remember, as one of the first games - it has some issues and the newer games built upon this one and cleaned up some of the things that might challenge someone here.

If I have any suggestion, make a character on Rathe server and look for Roxxanna's guild (The Eternal Darkness).
  5. Chinghis New Member