Unscheduled Downtime

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Pintoy 3, Oct 27, 2022.

1. Pintoy 3 Journeyman

Why is unscheduled downtime always scheduled? Several hours in advance, you don't know what is wrong, but you know how long it will take to fix it. Of course no one is surprised. Nearly every monthly patch requires at least one unscheduled patch. If the problem is severe enough you call them emergencies. Of course you prefer not using that term. You want us to believe the myth that you always know what you are doing. Over the years we've seen a lot of the folks who did know what they were doing get fired. I started playing in 99 so have seen many friends at SOE, Daybreak and Darkpaw 'leave'.
  2. Hekaton Augur

Lol Be grateful a 25 year old game is still seeing content releases. That’s unheard of in the industry
    Nennius, minimind, Firaaf and 4 others like this.
  3. Act of Valor The Newest Member

You're all grown up, but you're making threads whining about an online game that requires downtime. Why?
    Nennius, minimind and Coagagin like this.
  4. Shillingworth Augur

Not seeing these follow up patches every month you mention but then I have only been back since summer. I guess in the past there were a noticeable amount of follow up patches but I don't remember it being an every patch thing.

I can kind of see your point with "firing" (or laying off) talent but that was more of a SOE thing. Having watched and read so many interviews with former and current ex-SOE property team members, I noticed this pattern where SOE gutted their properties on a regular basis. Really makes ya lament what might have been had they not done that. But then you also have to pay attention to how many of those people said they were being grossly overworked and well on the way (or at) the point of burn out, so who knows just how much longer they would have lasted under those conditions.