Should there be a place in Everquest for a player like me

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Colfaax55, Mar 13, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Colfaax55 New Member

I want to preface this post by saying that I am in no way upset by what happened.
    I do not think I was wronged in any way.
    I made a decision back in November knowing full well what the consequences could be.

I play Everquest with 6 accounts. On Friday 4 of those 6 accounts were suspended for cheating. I am 100% guilty. On 5 of the 6 accounts I use 3rd party tools to automate game play.

Here is some background on who I am as a player and how I ended up making this decision.

I have been playing Everquest off and on for over 20 years. I started when Kunark came out. I think that first year I averaged 6 hours a day in game. I fell in love with this game. I loved the difficulty and grouping. I didn't multi-box and tended to look down on people who did.
    Of course over time my life circumstances and priorities changed. I would leave eq and come back many times over the years. By 2015 I had stopped trying to group with other people regularly. I generally only had an hour or two at night to play and no set schedule. I could go days or weeks without logging in.

Around this time I started multi boxing 2-3 characters with mercs. I didn't use any automation tools. I eventually started using a program that allowed me to lay out the ui that made it easier to control all three characters from my keyboard.

I think this was around the time that HAs came along. I would find myself playing for a few months, then quitting only to start up again after a year or so.

I always seemed to hit a wall around level 90-95. I just didn't make any significant progress. I didn't seem to have the skills to handle 3 characters simultaneously and the merc healing often left me dead even in HAs. By 2020 I had pretty much given up on EQ.