Stats Revamps, New Powers and New Content are all great, but...

Discussion in 'Gotham City (General Gameplay)' started by Achillean, May 1, 2017.

1. Achillean New Player

So, just to get this out of the way…I realize that my tag says “New Player,” but that’s kind of misleading; I’ve been playing this game on and off since beta (mostly on, if I’m being honest). I do read these forums – also on and off -- I’m just not much of a “poster,” frankly. For one thing, I’m a professional writer, and I find that once I start posting on forums, social media, etc…my creative mojo gets depleted pretty quickly. It’s a lesson I have to learn again and again, apparently. Lol. Part of my professional writing career, long ago and far away, included writing and designing a couple of games. I say all of this only to to avoid being immediately dismissed out of hand as a “noob.”

I’ve been a fan of comics all my life. I played COH, and to a lesser extent, Champions Online for years. I don’t want to be one of those guys who whines about how much I miss COH (okay, maybe a little). That said, I think DCUO has some big things over either COH or CO: the stable of characters, the combat system and the graphics.all leap to mind. Whatever myopic aspersions we all might feel free to cast in the direction of the developers, the truth is, if we pull back a bit and take in what’s already here, it’s pretty hard to argue with what they’ve accomplished.

Still, there’s no denying one thing: there's something missing. And there’s been something missing from day one, at least in my opinion. Fear not, though…this isn’t one of those annoying “Goodbye, cruel DCUO” posts. I actually think anyone who takes the time to author one of those (frankly pathetic) rants on these forums should be forever honored by having one of those NPC “jumpers” permanently named for their character. Wouldn’t that be great? Trying to talk “Sp1dermanMarvel25” off a ledge? Come on. But I digress.