Don't take this the wrong way, but...

Discussion in 'Player Support' started by Lazaruz, Jul 9, 2013.

1. Lazaruz

It's been almost 8 months since the release of Planetside 2, and the game client still isn't stable. I'm not a coder or anything, nor do I pretend to know the first thing about making games, but I think having a game client that doesn't randomly crash to desktop multiple times a day is fairly important if you want to be considered an AAA title.

While watching the MLG Anaheim streams a couple weeks ago, I personally as a Planetside 2 player felt embarrassed when I saw the game crashing over and over during their streams. I can't begin to imagine how the dev/tech team doing the streaming was feeling...
    There isn't much more that I can say, only to ask that you keep working on the issue, as I'm sure you are. But the results could be a little more encouraging considering how much time has gone by since launch.
  2. Irathi

I'm not going to say they don't have a clue what is wrong with it, but I think maybe they are not entirely certain what needs fixing first.

My game never crashes except sometimes upon exiting to windows. I do not experience fps drops, the fps stays at 40+ in most fights and sometimes in really heavy fights it drop to 30-40. Funny thing is ever since beta I've crashed maybe a total of 5-6 times in game which I suspect could easily be because I've had an experimental OC on at the time.

So it is not like everyone has a problem with crashing, but many enough does, so it's a big problem indeed. I just don't know if they've been able to isolate the problem yet. It is especially difficult if they never experience the crashing first hand.

Totally agree they should have had this stable 5-6 months ago. 2-3 months of unstable gameplay is not unusual, but anything above is extremely long.