SOE, are you listening? Bueller? Bueller?

Discussion in 'Warlock' started by ARCHIVED-Econometrix, Aug 22, 2008.

1. ARCHIVED-Econometrix Guest

I'm relatively new to the warlock; however, I'd like to post my opinions regarding changes that should be made to the class.
    I created a warlock with the notion that the class should outperform other mages in taking down multiple mobs quickly. With most classes, I have found it difficult to deal with encounters and adds. Sadly, my illusionist fares much better against multiple mobs than my warlock does. I like the idea of an AE mage class, but it is not operationalized well in its current form.
    I'd like to see us have more pbaoes and more pbaoe or encounter reactives or damage procs. Why do wizards have access to more pbaoes than we do? Theirs are directional but do a lot more damage than ours. Given that I seldom run into groups of **tough** mobs that exceed 3 in number, this makes wizards' pbaoes superior to our own. No one wants to play a class that is known for taking down large numbers of weak mobs efficiently. Unfortunately, this is a fairly accurate description of the warlock.
    I would also like to see something done to change our curse spells. With the elimination of nil crystals from the game, these spells have become pretty useless. I like the idea of having power drains since I find power management a bit tricky when soloing. However, I wouldn't mind it at all if these were also replaced by dps-oriented spells.
    I think we should be given evacuate. Do we even have a spell to compensate for the group evac that wizards get? The random teleport/threat reduction spells (e.g., null caress, blink, phase) are worthless as an escape mechanism. The only time I use blink is to reposition myself in combat (with my illusionist alt and or my warlock via the arasai racial ability). Even then, I find this most useful if there is a tank or pet to distract the mob(s).