First time playing, class selection

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Maltidas, May 19, 2015.

1. Maltidas New Member

I am looking for basic advice on a solid solo class that can also help a group if/when I progress. I tend to play alone at times, but if I should find a group that I like, I would not be beyond gaming with them.

I have been playing MMO's since 1997, but Everquest was one that I passed on. I have enough working knowledge of the game to know the basics, but class selection is something that I am finding difficult to deal with. I like playing Priests and classes that can deal damage as well as heal themselves. I am patient and don't need a speed leveling class.

I know that this is an often asked question, but what classes can I solo with?

Thank you for your time,

~Malt
  2. moogs Augur

Hi and welcome. Druid is your answer. It's a very strong solo class (no need for a mercenary but you can go that route too), and we're desirable in groups and raids. At high levels, we can do pretty serious damage. Along with bards, we're the most flexible class in EQ. We have all of the tools needed to be successful against anything that we can root/snare, as long as they don't summon. It just takes a little practice learning to pull singles reliably, managing unexpected adds, and kiting in tight spots.
  3. Maltidas New Member

Thank you moogs for your response. I just read that I need a subscription to join the new Ragefire server? Is this true?
  4. Roxxanna Augur

With a merc (mercenary), anyone can solo (molo). Just grab a tank merc and have it fight for you, while you nuke and heal. I prefer clerics, but you may wish to try them all. And even though you may prefer to kinda remain solo, I suggest a family guild, a wealth of info can be gleaned there.
    moogs likes this.
  5. Jadefox Augur

Yes.

--Jade
  6. moogs Augur

Afraid so. The Time Locked Progression servers are for Gold Members only.
  7. Maltidas New Member