What is the longest range setup for Vanu LA?

Discussion in 'Light Assault' started by Jykil, Dec 2, 2012.

1. Jykil

I just started playing this weekend and I'm having a blast with LA. I love using the jetpack to flank and get shots on enemy sunderer spawns. The problem is I either end up so close to them that I die quickly, or I'm too far away to effectively kill anyone before a medic heals them.

So how does LA effectively deal with this situation? I'd like something where I can take out a person before they realize they're under attack, and then kill the medic that tries to res them.

Right now I'm running the Pulsar C with 4x scope. Would it be a noticeable improvement to get the foregrip, compensator, and HV rounds? From what I've seen online I'm not so sure. (I don't really need decreased bullet travel time, and nobody actually seems sure that HV increases damage. And I definitely don't want more recoil)

What about a slug shotgun? Is that better for sniping than any carbine setup could be? Nova or Thanatos?

I've also seen some people saying the Solstice SF is the way to go. I hated the basic Solstice starting weapon, is the SF better than the Pulsar C for sniping?

(Please no "go play infiltrator" comments, thanks. I'm just trying to figure out which medium-long range setup is best with the jetpack, not trying to 1-shot people from a mile away.)
  2. Wolfwood82

Right now for long range I think the compensator and foregrip are your best options. I'm not as familiar with the Vanu carbines but you might want to pay attention to refire rate and damage. Check those supposedly useless bars on the weapon stats chart to see what has better damage and lower refire rate on your rifles and apply the compensator, x4 or even x6 scope, and foregrip to that weapon. I'm not familiar with the HV rounds at all but you might want to try them out after you've set yourself up with everything else. My best luck for long range has been with soft point ammo though.