[VIDEO] ESF reverse maneuver changes on the Test Server (Video comparing PTS and Live)

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by SebDollar, Aug 1, 2013.

1. SebDollar

Made a quick video comparing the changes to the reverse maneuver. In my opinion they shouldn't change it. PS2 have a very unique flight model, and it would be a shame if they messed with it. Besides that, i think it would be a shame to lower the skill ceiling.
    • Up x 23
  2. Jeslis

Yea.. I wonder why they changed it?.. perhaps they want more dogfighting based on... someones on your 6, need wingman to take it out, and basically, killing the reverse maneuver as an option for face-to-face dogfighting?
  3. Notih8Darian

I'm not quite sure how I feel about this, as a pilot I use it to take out low BR pilots easily. But on the other hand, I get taken out easily by those who mastered the maneuver. I would be up for a nerf, but changing it from a factor of 8 to 2 is too much.
    • Up x 1
  4. Eclipson

Basically, what it seems they are doing, is changing the amount of vertical thrust you get by default with afterburners, so then, when the add the afterburner cert line, you can cert into making it go back up to what it was. If this is the case, its a really lazy change, as its gonna pretty much ruin flying for everyone without a few thousands certs to spare, or who wants to actually use a secondary weapon. The changes feel really bad. I was doing some dogfighting on the PTS, and pretty much if someone gets the drop on you, your dead. Trying to reverse maneuver just isn't worth it anymore. If the afterburner cert tree does what I think it will, it will not only lower the skill ceiling, but it will also create a large gap between high rank pilots and low rank, since high rank will be able to cert into external afterburners, and will simply wreck the competition.
    • Up x 12
  5. Aethestis