[Video] Dome Shield Review - What you can do or cant do

Discussion in 'Test Server: Discussion' started by Davelantor, Jun 28, 2013.

1. Davelantor

The new dome shield look really fun,
    As a pilot i am looking forward to it, while the current shields in test server are not the final form
    I will post the new video to this thread once the shields hit the live server with the changes told by the devs.
    • Up x 10
  2. Cowabunga

Interesting! They turned out quite different that I imagined but cool nonetheless. Nice to hear it from a pilot's perspective.
    • Up x 5
  3. Degenatron

I'm wondering why this is even a thing. I haven't ever seen a need for these.
    • Up x 11
  4. Nocturn0l

Sorry but i have to say, it kinda looks stupid how they end in the middle of thin air, kinda looks unfinished. I like the idea of giving infantry more breathing room against vehicles, however for aircrafts the one-directional fire will be a pain since they can't shoot back. I can already hear the cries of the pilots that SOE has created a new no-fly zone.
    In an ideal scenario you want infantry fighting inside the base, tanks fighting outside of the wall and aircrafts battling it out in the skys above. However that is not the case, because base entrances get camped by tanks so leaving is impossible, base turrets are destroyed instantly and after the gens go down they just camp inside the base, with dome shields now even protecting them from aircrafts.
    • Up x 4
  5. IamDH

Does this mean i wont A2G? :S
  6. Kevorkian

Not around the spawn you won't.
    • Up x 3
  7. MarioO

Do we even need those? People suggested dome shields a long while ago, when Liberators where a huge problem and A2G were rockets even more dangerous than now due to the few anti air weapons. But since we now have the Liberators and rocket pods nerfed and got all these anti air weapons, I don't really see a reason for these shields.
    • Up x 7
  8. Dvine